Language and Music Cognition Lab


Lab Director

Robert Slevc

Bob Slevc is an Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in the Department of Psychology, part of the Neuroscience and Cognitive Science program and of the Maryland Language Science Center. He received his Ph.D. at the University of California, San Diego and was a postdoctoral scholar at Rice University before coming to U. Maryland.

Graduated Students

Mattson Ogg
  • Mattson Ogg, Ph.D.

Mattson Ogg completed his Ph.D. in Neuroscience and Cognitive Science in April, 2019 (dissertation title: The acoustic factors that influence auditory object and event recognition over time). He is currently an audio/speech signal processing engineer at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory.

Brooke Okada

Brooke Okada completed her Ph.D. in Psychology in August, 2018 (dissertation title: Toward a comprehensive model of musical ability). She is currently a data analyst at Sisco LABS.

Alison Shell

Alison Shell completed her Ph.D. in Psychology in October, 2018 (dissertation title: The what And where of control in bilingual language switching). She is currently a research fellow at Digital Promise.

Shota Momma

Shota Momma completed his Ph.D. in Linguistics in 2016. He was advised by Colin Phillips, but also spent a good chunk of time in the LMCL, so we'll take some credit. Shota is currently a postdoc in the Language Production Lab at UCSD and will soon be an assistant professor of Linguistics at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Research Assistants (2018-19)

  • Abiola Adesina
  • Bélan Chimamanka'a
  • Donna Dadkhoo
  • Eli Kane
  • Daisy Martinez
  • Roxanna Meyssami
  • Elsa Moeller
  • Colleen Patton
  • Jessica Yao

Current and recent collaborators

(an incomplete list ordered by approximate distance from the lab)

LMCL RA Alumni

  • 2017-18:
    Sam Frazier
    Sam Harley
    Ava Mirzadegan
    Molly Moore
    Afiong Onyile
    David Silversmith
    Rafael Zuleta (honors)
  • 2016-17:
    Arman Ali
    William Bartz
    Brittni Bittner
    Alexandra Hickey
    Christy Jones
    Christy Nguyen
    Jackie Patton
    Keana Richards
    Jessica Ward
    Jocelyn Yao
  • 2015-16:
    Abiola Adesina
    Tiffany Bamdad (honors)
    Mary Dumler
    Arcadia Ewell
    Toria Hawkins
    Kelly Hiden
    Hope Opia
    McLaine Rich
    Judith Tsoi
  • 2014-15:
    Zarsh Bhatti
    Nick Brown
    Jeff Chang
    Chris Eyo
    Dan Lerner
    Leon Li (honors)
    Danielle Dubois
    Lisa Kaufman
    Quyen Kieu
    Omar Mejia
    Nabil Morad
  • 2011-14:
    Nick Davey (honors)
    Bako Ekoko
    Ilana Green
    Kyeougeun Kim
    Teresa Longo
    Annahid Meyssami
    Rukayat Muse-Ariyoh
    Ilanna Newman
    Daniel Paul
    Anjana Rao
    Joshua Robusto
    Sadhvi Saxena
    Brad Schachat
    Ryan Simmons
    Eliana Sudikoff